Skip to product information
1 of 4

Rosypenguin

Book Club Penguins - Book 11 Membership: The Counterfeit by Kirstin Chen

Regular price
£15.00
Regular price
Sale price
£15.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Style

    Join our community and read along with us! We have readers far and wide and love that book by book more of you are joining us.

    How It Works: 
    • Subscribe to our Book Club membership on our website or in-store
    • We will email you to get some personal details
    • You can choose what way of reading you prefer Paperback, E-Book, or Audiobook and you will receive yours
    • You will have access to a private Instagram page & WhatsApp group to see our book discussions, live chats and general Book Club banter to keep you entertained along the way.
    • For the final chapter, we will host a book club party where we can meet & discuss the books

      What's Included: 

      • Paperback, Ebook, or Audiobook sent to you each month
      • Access a private Instagram page & WhatsApp group
      • Rosypenguin goodie bag to welcome you to the Book Club *(one per person at the time of initial joining) 
      • Invite to the final chapter party

      The Book: 

        The Counterfeit by Kirstin Chen

          About the book:

          For fans of Hustlers and How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia, the story of two Asian American women who band together to grow a counterfeit handbag scheme into a global enterprise--an incisive and glittering blend of fashion, crime, and friendship from the author of Bury What We Cannot Take and Soy Sauce for Beginners.

          Money can't buy happiness... but it can buy a decent fake.

          Ava Wong has always played it safe. As a strait-laced, rule-abiding Chinese American lawyer with a successful surgeon as a husband, a young son, and a beautiful home--she's built the perfect life. But beneath this façade, Ava's world is crumbling: her marriage is falling apart, her expensive law degree hasn't been used in years, and her toddler's tantrums are pushing her to the breaking point.

          Enter Winnie Fang, Ava's enigmatic college roommate from Mainland China, who abruptly dropped out under mysterious circumstances. Now, twenty years later, Winnie is looking to reconnect with her old friend. But the shy, awkward girl Ava once knew has been replaced with a confident woman of the world, dripping in luxury goods, including a coveted Birkin in classic orange. The secret to her success? Winnie has developed an ingenious counterfeit scheme that involves importing near-exact replicas of luxury handbags and now she needs someone with a U.S. passport to help manage her business--someone who'd never be suspected of wrongdoing, someone like Ava. But when their spectacular success is threatened and Winnie vanishes once again, Ava is left to face the consequences.

          Swift, surprising, and sharply comic, Counterfeit is a stylish and feminist caper with a strong point of view and an axe to grind. Peering behind the curtain of the upscale designer storefronts and the Chinese factories where luxury goods are produced, Kirstin Chen interrogates the myth of the model minority through two unforgettable women determined to demand more from life.

          Reviews:

          INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

          "A con artist story, a pop-feminist caper, a fashionable romp . . . Counterfeit is an entertaining, luxurious read--but beneath its glitz and flash, it is also a shrewd deconstruction of the American dream and the myth of the model minority. . . . Chen is up to something innovative and subversive here." -- Camille Perri, NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW

          Recommended by New York Times Book Review- Washington Post -People- Entertainment Weekly- USA Today- Time-Cosmopolitan-Today show - Harper's Bazaar- Vogue-Good Housekeeping-Parade-New York Post - Town & Country- GMA.com - Buzzfeed - Goodreads - Oprah Daily - Popsugar - Bustle - theSkimm - The Millions - and more!

          "If you appreciate a good caper, you'll want to pick up Kirstin Chen's novel . . . Fast-paced and fun, with smart commentary on the cultural differences between Asia and America." -- TIME

          "Propulsive and captivating . . . A provocative story of fashion, friendship, and fakes (in more ways than one)." -- VOGUE

           

          Delivery Information
          FREE Standard UK Delivery

          Our standard UK Postal Delivery via Royal Mail is now FREE. No need for a code at checkout - shipping is on us!
           
          We have so many lovely customers dotted around the country and we're delighted to be able to parcel your items up and pop your orders in the mail to you.
           
          Europe
           
          If you are further afield in Europe do email us at info@rosypenguin.com and we will make arrangements for items to be sent to you too! We do this on an order-to-order basis to be sure we choose the right postal service for you.
           
          Book Club Penguins - Book 11 Membership: The Counterfeit by Kirstin Chen
          Book Club Penguins - Book 11 Membership: The Counterfeit by Kirstin Chen
          Book Club Penguins - Book 11 Membership: The Counterfeit by Kirstin Chen